Chakras / meridians | soma therapies

What are Chakras/ Meridians?

Chakras also known as meridians are whirling vortexes of energy centres that play a vital role in the functioning of the various bodies. Chakra is a sanskrit word meaning Wheel. Just the way a vehical wheel would spin when in motion is exactly how a chakra would spin throughout the life of a person. Just as the visible physical body has vital and minor organs, the energy body has major, minor and mini chakras as does the mental body, emotional body etc. Major Chakras for the average person are approximately two to four inches in diameter and all are positioned in a straight line along the spinal cord. They control and energise every aspect of the visible physical body respectively ie heart chakra controls and energises the physical and emotional heart and thymus glad etc They are just like power stations that supply life energy also known in sanskrit as prana to different organs and parts of the body. When the power stations malfunction, the corresponding vital organs become sick or diseased because they either have too much energy or too little energy to operate sufficiently! Almost like a domino effect the malfunction of one chakra and its corresponding organs can eventually have a negative effect on its neighbouring chakras and organs resulting in a multiplication of illnesses. If the function of the malfunctioning chakra is not corrected, eventually the physical mental and emotional bodies can start to collapse due to the domino effect.

The chakras have several important functions:

1. They absorb, digest and distribute prana to the different parts of the body and chakras.

2. The Chakras control and energize, and are responsible for the proper functioning of the whole physical and psychological body and its different parts and organs.

3. To operate they spin in a certain direction and at a certain speed. The spinning speed is unique to all beings. In full health these chakras would all be approximately the same size and spinning at the same speed.

4. The spinning of these chakras only cease at the moment of death.

Many ancient esoteric books reveal only seven chakras or less. Although a few of them hint on the existence of more than seven. Soma therapies focuses on 9 main meridians with a multitude of mini meridians creating a vast network almost like a cosmic spiders web.

Back to our articles page

Find out more about our therapy services

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *